PROFESSOR STEPHEN GRAHAM DAVIES

Address: Chemistry Research Laboratory,

University of Oxford, Mansfield Road, Oxford, OX1 3TA, U.K.

Tel: 01865-275646 Fax: 01865-275633 email: steve.davies@chem.ox.ac.uk

URL: http://davies.chem.ox.ac.uk/home.aspx

Date of Birth: 24.02.50 (Birmingham, UK) **Age:** 65

Education:

University of Oxford B.A. Chemistry 1973

Thesis entitled "Benzene Oxide and Related Compounds"

D.Phil. 1975 (Supervisor: Dr G.H. Whitham)

Thesis entitled "Studies on Epoxides"

University of Paris D.Sc. (Docteur ès Sciences) 1980

Thesis entitled "Contribution a La Chimie des Epoxydes"

Honorary Degrees:

2013 Doctor Honoris Causa, University of Salamanca, Spain

(The University of Salamanca is one of the oldest in the world and only

awards three "Doctor Honoris Causa" per annum)

Positions Held:

1975 - 1977 I.C.I. Postdoctoral Fellow, Dept. of Inorganic Chemistry, Oxford.

(Professor M.L.H. Green, FRS)

1977 - 1978 N.A.T.O. Postdoctoral Fellow, I.C.S.N., C.N.R.S., Gif-sur-Yvette,

Paris. (Professor Sir Derek Barton, FRS)

1978 -1980 Attache de Recherche, C.N.R.S., I.C.S.N., C.N.R.S., Gif-sur-Yvette, Paris

1980 -1996 Lecturer in Organic Chemistry, Dyson Perrins Laboratory, Oxford.

Fellow of New College, Oxford

1996 - 2004 Professor of Chemistry, Dyson Perrins Laboratory, Oxford

Fellow of New College, Oxford

2004 - 2006 Professor of Chemistry, Chemistry Research Laboratory, Oxford

Fellow of New College, Oxford

2006- Waynflete Professor of Chemistry, University of Oxford

Fellow of Magdalen College, Oxford (The Waynflete Chair is the oldest and

only named chair in Organic Chemistry at Oxford)

2006- 2011 Chairman of Chemistry, University of Oxford

(Full responsibility for all teaching, research, financial and managerial matter

for one of the largest Chemistry Departments in the world)



Awards:

1984: Hickinbottom Fellowship 1985: Pfizer Award for Chemistry

1986: Corday Morgan Medal (1984): Royal Society of Chemistry

1987: Royal Society of Chemistry Award for Organometallic Chemistry

1988: Pfizer Award for Chemistry

1989: Royal Society of Chemistry Bader Award

1996: Tilden Lecture Award, Royal Society of Chemistry

1997: Royal Society of Chemistry Award in Stereochemistry

1998: Prize Lectureship of the Society of Synthetic Organic Chemistry, Japan

2008: Distinguished Technopreneur Award, Singapore

2011: Royal Society of Chemistry Perkin Prize for Organic Chemistry

Publications: 568 publications (h index 57, 14410 cites, December 2015)

URL for publications: http://davies.chem.ox.ac.uk/publications.aspx

Membership of Committees

1986 -1992	Society of the Chemical Industry: Fine Chemicals Committee
1990 -1993	Society of the Chemical Industry: Awards and Academic Relations Committee
1987 -1990	Royal Society of Chemistry: Perkin Council
1988 -1991	SERC - Organic Chemistry Subcommittee
1991 -1992	SERC - Clean Technology Directorate
1991 -1992	EPSRC Clean Technology Panel
1994 -1995	Academic Secretary, Sub-Faculty of Chemistry.
1994 -1995	Physical Sciences Board, Oxford University
1995 - 2000	Technology Transfer Advisory Group, Oxford University.
1998 - 2010	Conflict of Interest Committee, Oxford University.
1997-	RSC Oxford/Cambridge International Synthesis Meeting Organising Committee
	(Chair 2001, 2005, 2009 and 2013)
2000-	Intellectual Property Advisory Group, Oxford University
2002- 2014	Board of Electors of the Newton Abraham Visiting Professorship
2006 - 2007	Medical Sciences Divisional Board
2006 - 2011	MPLS Divisional Board
2006 - 2011	MPLS General Purposes Committee
2006 - 2010	Begbroke Science Park Strategy Group

Editorial Appointments

1989 - 1992	J. Chem. Soc. Perkin Transactions:	Editorial Board Member
1989 -	"Oxford Chemistry Primers", OUP	Founding Editor and Editor of Organic Series
1995 -	"Oxford Chemistry Masters", OUP	Founding Editor and Editor of Organic Series
1990 -	Tetrahedron:	Executive Editorial Board Member
1990 -	Tetrahedron: Asymmetry	Founder and Editor in chief
2005 -	"On Chemistry" Books	Editor



Companies Founded and Directorships

•	•
1992 - 1998	Oxford Asymmetry Limited; Founder and Director (Asymmetric Synthesis)
1995 - 1998	Oxford Diversity Limited; Founder and Research Director (Combinatorial Chemistry)
1998 - 2000	Oxford Asymmetry International plc; Founder and Director (<i>Drug Discovery Services</i>)
2003 - 2004	VASTox Limited; Founder and Non-executive Chairman (Orphan Drug Discovery)
2004 - 2006	VASTox plc; Founder and Non-executive Chairman (Orphan Drug Discovery)
2004 -	SciInk Limited; Founder and Non-executive Chairman (Not for profit Undergraduate text publisher)
2006 - 2013	Summit Corporation plc (formerly VASTox plc); Founder and Non-executive Director (<i>Pharmaceuticals</i>)
2006 - 2009	Oxray Limited; Founder and Non-executive Director (Crystallography Software Developer)
2011 -	OxStem Limited; Founder and Non-executive Chairman (Regenerative Medicine via endogeneous control of cell differentiation)
2011 - 2014	MuOx Ltd. (Acquired by Summit Therapeutics plc); Founder and Non-executive Chairman (Drug Discovery for Orphan Muscle Diseases)
2014 -	Summit Therapeutics plc; Non-executive Director (2003 London AIM SUMT: 2015 NASDAQ SUMM) (Drug Development for Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy and Antibiotic against Clostridium difficile)

Directorships:

2007 - 2009	(IP commercialisation)
2008 -	Isis Innovation plc; Non-executive Director (Oxford University's IP commercialisation company)
2010 - 2011	Scientific Research Capital Limited; Non-executive Chairman (IP commercialisation)

Expert Witness

Organic and medicinal chemistry international expert witness for: AstraZeneca, GSK, Lundbeck,

